Weekend Book List: 5 Mindful Reads

For many people, there’s nothing more relaxing than curling up with a good book. Which is why, this month, we’ve put together a reading list of books in honour of our March mindfulness theme. Every book on this list either offers practical advice to find moments of happiness in every day (remember – be present, not perfect!), follows a journey of transformation as the writer finds out more about what makes them tick, or offers tips and tricks to help you indulge in a little more self-care. Let us know what you think of them or if you have any recommendations of your own!


Happy: Finding joy in every day and letting go of perfect by Fearne Cotton
For many of us, life can feel like it’s moving too fast with pressure bearing down on us from all sides – whether that’s from school or work, family or social media. As a result, we find ourselves frazzled, lost and – too often – feeling blue.
It’s a subject close to Fearne’s heart. Drawing on her own experiences and including expert advice, HAPPY offers practical ways of finding joy each and every day. Happiness isn’t a mountain to climb, it’s just one foot in front of the other on the path of life, and here you’ll find little steps that will help make the differences that count. With workbook elements to help you start and end the day well; get in touch with your creative side; and find peace through written exercises, simple practical ideas and visualisations, these are daily tricks and reminders to help you unlock that inner happiness.

Self-Care for the Real World by Nadia Narain & Katia Narain Phillips
Wellness pioneers Nadia Narain and Katia Narain Phillips have spent decades helping others to feel their best. But it took them a bit longer to learn to care for themselves. Here they share the small, achievable steps they picked up on a lifetime’s journey towards self-care, and how you can apply them to your life, wherever you are.

Calm: Calm the Mind. Change the World by Michael Acton Smith
Modern life is hectic and relentless: trains delayed, endless emails filling the inbox, kids squabbling before bedtime… There has never been a more important time to rediscover your pause button. Calm is the book that will show you how to take back a little bit of peace, space and all-important calm. This book contains the simple tools, tricks and habits that will change the rest your life. It is a practical and pleasurable guide to twenty-first century mindfulness.

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin
In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, award-winning author Gretchen Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.

Wild: A Journey from Lost to Found by Cheryl Strayed
At twenty-six, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything. In the wake of her mother’s death from cancer, her family disbanded and her marriage crumbled. With nothing to lose, she made the most impulsive decision of her life: to walk eleven-hundred miles of the west coast of America and to do it alone. She had no experience of long-distance hiking and the journey was nothing more than a line on a map. Wild follows her journey as she pieces her life back together in the great outdoors.